Smart cook , a missing ingredient and a fab chicken recipe !

Am a smart cook. I realized it, first  when I cooked rice years ago…

Cooking rice is very easy- rice , water and a bit of salt in a steam pressure cooker, wait till cooker blows out 2-3 whistles and it’s done.Dumb cooks mess up by adding less or more water, dumbest one do not add salt.

Am smart cook. I do everything right.

I just missed one ingredient – water.

The result ? There was no whistle . By the time I realized this, rice had turned into  black  pebble sticking to the bottom of the pan so very hard that I was feeling bad separating two eternal lovers .Rice refused to come out of pot even after weeks of washing …

Not bad I would say, still in smart category . I just missed 1 ingredient out of 3,  that is 1/3rd recall value ,  memory memorize ,success rate ..blah blah blah.. I think based on this stats ,I should be called above average smart cook ( am feeling so good about writing this post now ..)

My talent doesn’t stop here . My husband never forgets to remind me of ONE  time , just bloody ONE time , in all of my cooking career  when I messed up a particular Indian sweet dish “Halwa”, another easy-easy dish with 3 ingredients -sugar , semolina and milk . I forgot ; again just one item….

How bad can a sweet dish be without sugar? I mean really how bad ? Just pour some honey over it honey !!

(One would assume my husband has good memory , but that “one” should wait till I ask my husband about first time I cooked for him and see his good memory show its true color!)

I once mis-read “cut into 1 centimeter pieces” and instead “cut into 1 inches long pieces” and result was raw , plain raw and this I admit was bad reading , not “lack of passion for cooking” issue.

My tea was once labelled gutter water .I meant to cut on some calories with less milk more water..smart move but not exactly drinkable combination for some.

But I will say it’s rather smart .

There are more , but am starting to think the reader of post will join my husband next time I make halwa and don’t want to give any upper hand to anyone via my blog , any-upper-hand-over-me post goes out of window!

This post is about my smartness in kitchen..

Overtime , I learned to specialize in recipe

  • which needs as little time in front of stove as possible…blink and you will miss when I was kitchen cooking..
  • which does not ever ever ever needs constant stirring…. just mix all , cover it , low flame and go read a blog.
  • measurement is not important and free style hand measurement is just about right.. nothing can go wrong if you add more salt or sugar..
  • most important is you are never ever out of ingredients and nothing is a must ingredient ; Sugar isn’t important for sweet dish , pour honey ,use chocolate syrup..
  • which can be cooked while you can catch your nap ! Yes , remember low flame ,  plenty of water , and tell husband to keep an eye 🙂

 

meandkitchen
That is me with a book , but sometimes I watch BBT or nap or play with son. And yeah .. in between I cook my smart chicken recipe!

Here is one very much fab chicken recipe..My style chicken..

Out – The Indian version which needs prep and constant stirring , at least 30 minutes in front of stove , an hour in making ! Puff!
In – read , write , watch TV, nap , play and in-between cook chicken!

Take a pot, put chicken(wash and dry) and mix following

  1. Open kitchen cabinet for spices  – add all to chicken , even sambhar powder (its a special for lentil-based vegetable stew only). I have salt , turmeric , chilly ,coriander , mustard and cumin seeds , and sambhar here.
  2.  Open kitchen cabinet for special spices – add all into chicken. I have bay leaf , clove , cardamom , carom seeds et al.
  3. Open kitchen cabinet for foreign exotic spices– rosemary , thyme , oregano and galangal. If you already live in land of rosemary or galangal , then look at step 1 & 2 again, that might be foreign and exotic for you!
  4. Open refrigerator, get out bowl of plain curd and add it . No curd – Tell hubby chicken will be a bit dry.
  5. Check your vegetable compartment and look for fresh herbs – coriander , mint, curry leaves and lemon.
  6. Look for any vegetable that is lying there since a week .. c’on you need to cook it now , capsicum , beans .. out out out! Not carrot ..you dont want chicken sweet
  7.  Add salt , of course.
  8. Add green chilly – this is my must have ingredient. Am ardent fan of green chills , it’s like oxygen for my food.
  9. If in mood , cut some onions and tomatoes and add it to pot. Add some garlic cloves .. actually add plenty of garlic.
  10. Pour in some amount of oil.
  11. Cover or do not cover the pot, I will leave the choice to you. Put on low flame. That’s it , enjoy – watch , sleep .. do whatever you want.

After 10 minutes , ask your husband to go have a look. Is the chicken tender yet?

After another 10 minutes , ask your maid to have  a look.Is the chicken cooked?

After another 10 minutes – get your own ass up there and check if chicken is cooked.

Oh yeah , I forgot to tell you -do not add water . All the stuff releases water and its usually not dry. If you have already added water by now , then never mind, you can watch 2 episodes of Big Bang Theory instead of 1 planned.

After 30 minutes ..and Voila !

I tell you its THE tastiest chicken dish ever and smartest too!

 


 

I got a pic 🙂

chickenonpot


PS: The smartest dish to cook is rice , but , hmm , though its very good for cook ,  bad for waistline ,so I say ..be smart , skip it.


PPS: Some of the Indian recipe do not come under my specialty , like making roti the Indian bread – its a full time job in kitchen. Be smart , get a cook or roti maker or order.


PPPS: This post makes me eat chicken so much now . I should probably tell cook to make her special konkan style chicken recipe tonight 😉

 

3 thoughts on “Smart cook , a missing ingredient and a fab chicken recipe !

Now it is your turn to blab..

