Magic of festivals

Now is the time to be in India.

Coz now is the time in calendar when all our God’s said “Lets have some fun ” and  decided to have one party after another.It’s the unofficial festive season ; the last quarter of the year. Started with Ramzan , Ganapati , Durga Puja , Diwali and then finally Christmas ,new year and ending sometimes in March with Holi. Hell of a party time here.
Am an atheist , slowly getting there , Influence of my atheist husband. What he could not put off is my love for celebration during festival . I love the air of festivities , anything . Colorful Holi or the lights of Diwali. Love for Biryani makes every Eid delicious. Durga Puja is the time when my east indian hormones are at full bloom and out comes all mekhala Sadar from my wardrobe.

Festival is magic time.

The magic that works on everyone and uplifts everyone’s mood. Everyone plans for new dress , sweets , rituals , leave plans!  and hmm, some boring , very boring rituals.  I hate rituals , I never believed that is the way to connect to God, if there is one. But I love to attend rituals

Why ? Oh Boy !

Haven’t you had prasad any time?

I remember as teens , I would love to go to Gurudwara to have the yummiest tastiest prasad – Ghee wala halwa .What a treat for sweet-tooth. Halwa -I miss you so much . I was fortunate to attend langar (the community meal) 2-3 times and Gosh the food ! Awesome will be an insult to the food. It’s heavenly and surprising its veg! The only time
when I would say vegetarian food could satisfy the non veg body cells of mine.

Holi in airforce campus is the best. All ladies will make special sweet , place it on the table and leave the door open. Like a dog smelling a bone from far distance , we will hunt each house , have lump sum sweets to our stomach  satisfaction and then proceed to next hunt. Would gather and discuss which home is serving what and what did I miss.

diwali

Diwali – The biggest festival in India is a noisy affair , but a treat to eyes and belly of course. I remember helping Ma to light diya and distribute sweet plate to every home and looking forward to plate in return.

Ma and Me , preparing the diya's
Ma and Me , preparing the diya’s
Bihu , Bihu and Bihu

Assamese are little less creative with names . Every festival is called Bihu, even the dance form is called Bihu.W hat’s in the name anyways 🙂  The fun is Bihu is celebrated thrice a year and then we have mother of all festivals – Durga Puja. Aren’t we more simplistic? Name all festivals as Bihu and make same sweets in every Bihu.  Of course , there is more than that but who cares ? Eat laddu and wear new dress!

Durga Puja is time for shopping and shopping. Bihu is about everything else.

Now my current favourite is Ganesh Festival

Ganapati is the only idol who is depicted in thousand different forms , always up-to-date and following the latest trends . Ganapati playing cricket or saving farmers or whatever is cool today. Isnt he the coolest God?

It is celebrated widely in western India , where I reside currently and  My apartment society celebrates with games and fun for everyone – Salad decoration , Master Chef , Drawing competition , race , drama , song , dance , dinner , prasad … list is endless!

The housing complex atmosphere just lights up !

And the sweet Modak! Ganapati is not only cool but lucky God. Modak offered to him is so very delicious. Thanks to you Ganapati , we get to eat modak. Check out the pieces from Kaka Halwai – absolute divine!

Eid

Am lucky to enjoy Hindu and Muslim festival. After my wedding into a muslim family , I had my first ramzan fast . Fast for one full month.. By end of the day , I could eat anything that is in my sight , my voice decibel will go down and chit chatting will be reduced to half. But am amazed at the tolerance of my in-laws family who weren’t dying by hunger by evening.  But over years , I understood the importance of Roza for building my tolerance and I could survive roza .. I could never understand the true meaning of all religion

The best part of Roza is the Eid /Ramadan .  It’s a family union. The biryani is awesome and it is the time to try my culinary skills and act like a “bahu”.

And the photo sessions , family photo sessions , am no less than a model that day 🙂

Biryani

Growing up it was about food,  But later it was about  dressing up.

Food is sidelined , now it’s about “what should I wear on … ” . All my sari which never see daylight , are out of box and glittering in night. Whatsup and call discussion is about when to what and when to wear sari and jewellery.

And this list is only of major festival , India has plenty of festival and billions of people to celebrate with.

Moral of the story

Eat , dress like a queen ,pose like a model and enjoy , its magic time!

8 thoughts on “Magic of festivals

  1. This is fantastic! I love how you revel in the joys of all the celebrations regardless of what you may or may not believe personally. You seem to know all about each culture and their customs. That ghee wala halwa seems so good right now. I want some! 😀

    Like

    1. Coming soon .. Ghee wala halwa 🙂 Yeah I live in India , multi -cultural society .. so I know .And I won’t miss a chance where there is magic and food and to dress up and style :D. Just enjoy , leave the “rituals” to believers!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I definitely agree. I get to enjoy all the Christmas sales here too and look at the bright lights all day during this season. Wow I lived in India too, 3 years ago. What part are you from?

        Like

        1. Oh my god! Super embarrassed… I didn’t notice this comment before. So sorry for late reply. Am from East India Assam but stay in Maharashtra. Where were you in India…? And how was your stay..?

          Liked by 1 person

Now it is your turn to blab..

